Accountability

photo(1)

As I sat here fighting off the urge to eat something after I’d already had dinner, I decided that since 20 people liked my status on Facebook about starting a blog that I might as well start one.  The above picture is me walking today, and while I’m smiling, I’m hoping that I can actually make it the 2 miles that I have planned.

Four years ago, I began walking more and eating less and worked up to 4 miles every other day.  I felt great and looked good.  But life happened.  Again.  I eventually re-gained the weight, stopped exercising as much, and then got a new job where I don’t get home until 6:00 p.m.  And I’m NOT a morning person.  Getting up early to exercise will never happen.  I have gained and lost weight all of my life, but at this stage of the game (almost 50), I am concerned as much about my health as I am about my looks.

The weight really started pouring on about 2 months ago and I don’t know why.  I don’t feel like I’ve changed my eating habits and I’ve actually started walking more.  But after a little breakdown yesterday, I decided that I have to make a serious change in my habits.

I saw an Instagram post from a college-aged friend who looks great and is getting more fit every day.  When she loses weight, she takes off a numbered tab from her board.  That idea appealed to me because it is visible evidence that I’ve lost weight.IMG_4699 Thanks, Meg, for the idea.  So this is my starting point.  Each of those numbers represents a pound.  And I plan to lose 20 pounds by June 7 – the date of my cousin’s wedding in West Virginia.

I thought that perhaps if I started this blog that you all would help keep me accountable.  Kinda like our own online Weight Watchers.  And if you want to lose weight and eat healthier, I will help you stay accountable, too.  And I’ll try to encourage you.  At the beginning of my second mile today, when I wondered if I should just head home, one of the teens from my youth group commented on the picture above that I had posted on Instagram, telling me that I was pretty.  That got me through my second mile.  Thanks, Nikki!

Words and thoughts are powerful.  I hope I can encourage you.  Please let me know your story.

Healthy meal of the day: Harvest Salad by Dole with Fajita Chicken pieces (Tyson frozen).  Easy and yummy!

Anita 🙂

“A healthy outside starts from the inside.” Robert Urich

7 thoughts on “Accountability

  1. My step-daughter is getting married on June 7, just like your cousin, and the premiere of my step-son’s movie is probably going to be sometime that week or the week before. Double the reasons to double down and make some much-needed changes! I will be keeping you in my prayers. This aging thing is not fun but we can overcome!!

Leave a Reply

